PDP Assures Presidential Aspirants Of Level Playing Field

Ahead of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) National Convention scheduled to hold on Saturday in Port-Harcourt, the Rivers State Capital, Publicity Secretary of the party, Mr. Kola Ologbondiyan, has assured all its presidential aspirants that every one of them would have a free and fair chance to be elected as its flag bearer.

According to Ologbondiyan, “We are doing everything possible to carry all the aspirants along. We are going to publish the lists of delegates participating in the convention and all the aspirants will have a copy.”

He noted that the process adopted by the party was clean and clear, adding that each aspirant would nominate two people into the accreditation committee and another two each into the electoral committee.

“This is a deviation from the past when they were only asked to nominate agents to represent their interest at the convention,” he added.

Ologbondiyan stressed that the party had no interest for any aspirant, stressing that all the aspirants were capable and whoever emerged was capable of giving the party victory in 2019.

He said that the chairmen of the state chapters would introduce their delegates at the convention venue.

He explained that the party was not blackmailed to choose Port Harcourt as convention venue, saying that the issue of Port Harcourt was put into vote and it was unanimously agreed that the city should host the convention.

Twelve aspirants, including former Vice President Atiku Abubakar; Senate President Bukola Saraki; Sokoto State Governor, Alhaji Aminu Tambuwal; Gombe State Governor, Alhaji Ibrahim Dankwambo; former Jigawa State governor, Alhaji Sule Lamido; former Kaduna State governor, Senator Ahmed Makarfi; and former Minister of Special Duties and Inter-governmental Affairs, Alhaji Tanimu Turaki SAN.

Others are former president of the Senate, Senator David Mark; a former Kano State governor, Senator Rabiu Kwankwaso; former Sokoto State governor, Alhaji Attahiru Bafarawa; former Plateau State governor, Senator Jonah Jang; Mr. Stanley Osifo and Senator Baba Datti-Ahmed.

Previous ArticleNext Article

Share Your Comment With Others

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.