Agric Minister Akinwumi Adesina Emerges AfDB President

Nigeria’s outgoing Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, Akinwumi Adesina, on Thursday emerged the 8th President of the African Development Bank (AfDB).

Mr. Adesina defeated seven other candidates, including Sufian Ahmed, Jaloul Ayed, Kordjé Bedoumra, Cristina Duarte, Samura M. W. Kamara, Thomas Sakala, and Birama Sidibé.

The election was held in line with the amended rules of procedure governing the election of the President of the African Development Bank (Article 1).

He was elected with 58.10 percent after six rounds of voting, beating the finance ministers of Chad and Cape Verde to the role.

Chad’s Finance Minister Bedoumra Kordje came second in the election with 31.62 percent of votes, and third was Cape Verde’s Finance Minister Cristina Duarte with 10.27 percent.

A total of 80 AfDB shareholders — 54 African states and 26 non-African countries — took part in the election in Abidjan, in which eight candidates were vying for the presidency.

He will assume office on September 1, 2015.

Previous ArticleNext Article

Share Your Comment With Others

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.